Shop for Los Angeles Rams gear at

Questionable Calls Explained

The Rams got the short end of the stick on one non-call and one questionable 15 yard penalty near the end of the game against the Arizona Cardinals.  Mike Sando got the information from Jim Thomas of the St. Louis Post-Dispatch directly from referee Bill Leavy.

On the questionable personal foul penalty on Adam Goldberg:

“He knocked the defender down well after the pass was released and in my judgment, unnecessarily hit a player after the ball had been gone,”

We never saw a replay of this on the Fox telecast, so we are unable to judge for ourselves.  But, Goldberg said he couldn’t have seen when the ball was released because his back was to the quarterback.  Lineman on both sides of the ball routinely hit opposing players after the ball was released.  The whistle had not blown, and for all Goldberg knew, he was still protecting Marc Bulger.

On the 4th and 4 throw to Donnie Avery in the end zone, Dominic Rodgers-Cromartie made contact with Avery while the ball was in the air, but no foul was called.  Here is Leavy’s reaction:

“My field judge said that the contact was incidental,” Leavy told Thomas. “No restrictive contact (was made) and not enough to call a foul.”

The officials also spotted the ball terribly on the Rams two runs to gain 1 yard in the 3rd quarter, giving the Rams a terrible spot on 3rd down that left the Rams a whole yard short on 4th down.

The Rams made many mistakes in the game and there is no way that the officials lost the game for the Rams, but it is interesting to see what the explanations were.

Enjoyed this post?
Subscribe to Rams Gab via RSS Feed or E-mail and receive daily news updates from us!

Submit to Digg  Stumble This Story  Share on Twitter  Post on Facebook  Post on MySpace  Add to  Bark It Up  Submit to Reddit  Fave on Technorati

Leave a Reply